Why Varkala

Varkala is an International Tourism and pilgrim destination in Thiruvananthapuram district (South of Kerala State). About 50000 Foreign and 1.60 lakh domestic tourists visit Varkala every year. The great social reformer Sree Narayanaguru’s Samadhi is situated (nearly 10 lakhs pilgrims visit the samati every year) in Sivagiri Varkala. About 4 lakh pilgrims come to Varkala Papanasam beach every year during vavubali days for doing rituals for their departed souls. Vavu Bali is an annual day for Hindu rituals for their departed souls. A large number of people belonging to Varkala area are working in Middle East, Singapore, US and other European countries and hence a major chunk of income in Varkala is in terms of foreign currencies. The famous Varkala Cliff identified recently by the Geological Survey of India has a unique geological feature which is going to be declared as the National Geological Monument .  Varkala Cliff is a record of past changes in sea, soil, geological and nature which is called “Warkallai  Formation”.  The same is also going to be declared as the Geopark by the UNESCO tag.  To popularize and to make awareness about the cliff, there should be a Geo- heritage Museum which houses public shows and provide information about the Cliff.  There are 90 Geoparks across the Globe but none is in India till date.


Activities & New Initiatives

Projects /Activities undertaken by VIVID Corporation:

  1. Construction of Varkala Papanasam Balimandapam
  2. Centre for Performing Arts (CPA)
  3. Preparation of Master Plan for Varkala
  4. DPR Preparation for Waste Management
  5. Protection of Varkala Cliff 
  6. Establishment of UNESCO Geo Park
  7. Establishment of Geo Park Museum
  8. Erection of National Geological Monument Board at Varkala Cliff area
  9. Skill Development Institute
  10. Geo-Spatial Information System
  11. Destination Development 

Areas of operation :

  1. Varkala Municipality
  2. Vettoor Grama Panchayat
  3. Chemmaruthy Grama Panchayat
  4. Navaikulam Grama Panchayat
  5. Madavoor Grama Panchayat
  6. Pallickal Grama Panchayat
  7. Elakamon Grama Panchayat
  8. Edava Grama Panchayat



Govt. of India Govt. of Kerala